Preparing the fields for rain

Facing the Giants is just an awesome, fabulous movie.  It’s about Grant Taylor, coach of the Shiloh High School football team.  The Eagles have never had a winning season, and Coach Taylor’s prospects for staying on as coach are looking bleak.   He and his wife are in pretty dire financial straits, and they find out they’re facing infertility.  In short, Coach Taylor is feeling pretty low.  As he struggles to find his faith and his purpose, someone comes into his life to bring this message:

(My apologies if the sound is pretty low.  Turn it up so you can hear.  🙂 )  The story of the two farmers who both desperately needed rain and prayed for rain has stuck with me.  Only one acted like he believed his prayers would be answered.  Only one got out and prepared his fields for rain.

I think about that a lot.  I’m thinking about it a lot these days.  I started a new job in March of last year.  There’s a possibility that I may have the opportunity to move to Louisiana with my job.  This is a pretty exciting possibility for me, as that’s where I’m from originally.  I still have family there.  My dad is getting up in years and is having some health problems, and it sure would be nice to be an hour and a half away from him instead of seven hours.  And I LIKE my job.  I’m good at what I was hired to do.  It’s the kind of job I can see myself doing for 20 or 25 years and then retiring from.  To have a job I like that much and to get to move back home?  Well, that would just be an answer to prayer.

There is no official word yet as to if or when this will happen.  But I find myself drawn to start sorting through things, boxing up stuff we want to keep but don’t need on a daily basis.  Maybe I’m crazy.  Maybe I’ll be unboxing all of this stuff in a matter of a few weeks, when the possibility of me moving to Louisiana comes crashing to the ground.  Or maybe, just maybe, I’m preparing for rain.  All I can do is wait and pray until I find out for sure.

About bunkie68

Mom to boys. Happily married. Jesus follower. Avid reader. Amateur foodie. Scentsy consultant. I thrive on chocolate and strong coffee, and I need some extra hours in my day.
This entry was posted in Faith, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Preparing the fields for rain

  1. Pingback: Decisions made | Big Fat F: Flying Through Life with Faith

Leave a Reply

