It comes to us all

On my way home from work, I was listening to the radio, and an Ozzy Osbourne song came on.  For a while when The Osbournes show was on TV, I watched (yeah, yeah, I know – it was like a train wreck, you knew you should stop watching but you just couldn’t quite manage it).  As the song played this evening, I thought about the young Ozzy, able to stir up mayhem at concerts, biting the heads off of bats and whatnot, and the older Ozzy as portrayed on the TV show.  He wasn’t the raging rock star he was in his younger days.  He was older, slower, and sometimes a bit of a bumbling idiot (although I’ll grant you, some of that could have been a put-on for television, I don’t know).  Should we live so long, old age and that loss of our fast and furious youthful selves comes to us all.  We just don’t all play it out on national TV like Ozzy did.

And that made me think – when Jesus returns, everyone will see him.  Isaiah 45:22-23 says:

22 Turn to me and be saved,
all the ends of the earth!
For I am God, and there is no other.
23 By myself I have sworn;
from my mouth has gone out in righteousness
a word that shall not return:
‘To me every knee shall bow,
every tongue shall swear allegiance.’

Every knee shall bow, every tongue confess.  Every.  All.  No one will miss it.  The only question is whether we’ll be confessing Jesus as Lord as one of His children, who have believed in Him, believed that He died on the cross to save us from our sins and give us eternal life, and accepted Him as Savior, or whether we’ll be confessing as those who have disregarded the Christ during our time here on earth and realize too late that yes, He is who the Bible proclaims.

It comes to us all.  Maybe not in my lifetime, maybe not in yours, but Jesus will come to us all.  I’ve heard the question asked, if you’ve heard the gospel, what’s keeping you from accepting it?   What’s keeping you from accepting Jesus?  As the song says, “Romans 10:9 is all you gotta do.”  It’s something to think on.

About bunkie68

Mom to boys. Happily married. Jesus follower. Avid reader. Amateur foodie. Scentsy consultant. I thrive on chocolate and strong coffee, and I need some extra hours in my day.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

