Beautiful in God’s eyes

You may have already seen this video – I came across it on a friend’s Facebook page:

Mother’s Inspiring Video about her Blind Baby Boy

It’s a mother’s story about her son, who was born with very serious birth defects.  She chose not to abort him, and was told that she was a horrible person for not doing so.  The love she has for her son just leaps off the screen, and by the time the video was over, I had tears rolling down my face.  What a beautiful example of a mother’s love for her son.  She sees him for the beautiful person he is and is becoming, not for what the world sees as his shortcomings and defects.

If we as imperfect humans can love so deeply, how much more must God the Father love us?  We are flawed, sinful creatures who can never, in our own strength, do enough or be good enough to earn our way into Heaven.  But God loves us so much that He sent his only Son to die a painful, horrible death to pay the price for our sins – yours and mine and everyone else’s.  God did that so that we might have the opportunity to know Him and have a relationship with Him, and not be sentenced to the fate we rightly deserve, which is an eternity apart from God. Wow.  That kind of blows the mind.

I have two boys.  The thought of ever being in a position where I might be asked to give one of them up for the good of many just rips my heart out, and honestly, I’m not sure I could do it.  God could, and did.  “For God so loved the world that He gave his only Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have eternal life.”  John 3:16, ESV.  And when we’ve accepted Christ and believed in him as our Savior, God doesn’t look at us and see our flawed, sinful natures, deserving only of death.  God looks at us and sees the righteousness and beauty of his only Son, whom He loves, and He loves us as His own.

Father, words cannot express my gratitude, that you would give your Son as sacrifice for me.  I am so undeserving, but so very thankful.  I praise you, God, for your gift of love, given freely for me.

About bunkie68

Mom to boys. Happily married. Jesus follower. Avid reader. Amateur foodie. Scentsy consultant. I thrive on chocolate and strong coffee, and I need some extra hours in my day.
This entry was posted in Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

