A bit of a break

Apparently I took one!  A lot has happened since my last couple of posts.  We moved back to my home state of Louisiana at the end of June.  My older son has started his new school.  My father, who’d been diagnosed a number of years ago with Parkinson’s and who had really been unwell the last couple of years, went home to be with the Lord in late August.  We experienced our first hurricane with Isaac (while I grew up in Louisiana, I lived in central Louisiana, far enough inland that we never got the brunt of a serious storm).  Brian had car trouble, and we decided it was time for a new-t0-him vehicle.

Through it all, God has been good to us.  Thing One is doing well in school, in spite of his intense dislike of the uniforms they wear.  My father was so not himself at the end that it was a blessing for him to be free of his earthly suffering, and there’s been a curious peace following his passing.  Not that I don’t miss him, but I’m not crushed by the weight of grief.  Isaac wasn’t nearly as bad as it was anticipated to be, and the worst that happened was that we lost some food in the fridge and freezer due to the power going out, and Brian’s shed got blown over.  When funds have been needed, they’ve been there thanks to unexpected blessings that others have poured out on us.  I may not have blogged specifically about every incident, but they’re all tucked away in my heart, and I am so grateful and thankful that God is faithful to keep His promises, to meet our needs and to wipe away every tear.

About bunkie68

Mom to boys. Happily married. Jesus follower. Avid reader. Amateur foodie. Scentsy consultant. I thrive on chocolate and strong coffee, and I need some extra hours in my day.
This entry was posted in Faith, Family, Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A bit of a break

  1. Shawn says:

    I LOVE reading your posts, and I regret we did not have the chance to know each other (except through Brian) while you were here. You are such a positive and loving person. Thank you for sharing that positive spirit and sense of humor by blogging.

    Like

Leave a Reply

