Menu plan for the week

Whew.  We made it through the holidays, and now we’re trying to survive Brian’s new job!  He got a job as a meter reader.  We’re very thankful that he has it, and yes, the income is a good thing.  But he’s been working six-day weeks since he started, and the job is pretty physically demanding – lots of walking, in the hot or the cold or the wet or the dry.  He’s about ready to be done with these mandatory Saturdays that they’re all having to work.

In an effort to make evenings a little easier on us all, and to keep us from breaking the bank on eating out, I’m getting back to my meal planning.  On the agenda for the week:

Ribs in the crockpot with broccoli slaw and potato salad
Man-Pleasing Chicken with broccoli rice casserole
Creole Stuffed Bell Peppers
Breakfast for dinner
Pan-fried cube steaks with parsnip mashed potatoes and cream gravy and sauteed mixed vegetables

I fully expect my kids to like some of these things, and I fully expect for some of them to be greeted with “ewwwww, I don’t like that”.  Thing Two is very three, and would prefer to live on bananas, cheese, yogurt, applesauce, and fried shrimp, with the occasional Pop-Tart thrown in for good measure.  Thing One inherited his father’s picky gene, and he’s got issues with some textures, too, so there are things he just can’t choke down no matter how hard he tries.  Brian and I will eat pretty much anything, but it’s proving to be a challenge to fix things that my kids don’t either protest or leave on their plates.  It’s frustrating.  I like to cook, I like to try new things.  It would be nice to have an appreciative audience.  Got any suggestions for good meals that have some redeeming nutritional value and are appealing to the younger crowd?

You’ll notice my meals are not strictly paleo.  We’ve tried it, and while we did find some recipes we really liked, it’s challenging for us to do all paleo, all the time.  We try to eat pretty clean, but we’re not cutting out rice, and I do like potatoes occasionally.  (And yeah, I’m from Louisiana – if we can catch it and fry it, we can eat it.  I like the occasional chicken-fried steak or big ol’ plate of fried shrimp.  It’s in my blood!)  We’re focusing instead on adding more fruits and veggies to meals and to snacktimes, and on encouraging the boys to choose healthier options more often than not.  This is a real battle with Thing One, who’s old enough to really kick up a fuss about not getting all the same junk foods his friends get.  I think it was an eye-opening experience for him when we went grocery shopping and I asked him to read labels.  He was aggravated and pretty surprised to find that high-fructose corn syrup is in a LOT of things.  He told me, “Mom, I try to tell my friends that that high-fructose corn syrup is bad for them, but they don’t listen to me.”  Points to you for trying, my son, and points for listening to your mama.  🙂

About bunkie68

Mom to boys. Happily married. Jesus follower. Avid reader. Amateur foodie. Scentsy consultant. I thrive on chocolate and strong coffee, and I need some extra hours in my day.
This entry was posted in Family, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

