Saying farewell

I learned this morning that a friend of mine from college, Aimee Wallis Buchanan, passed away last night. She died from complications with the flu. She was 44, the same as me.

I haven’t seen Aimee in 20 years. We kept up on Facebook, as well as that can be done. I saw her kids growing in pictures. I saw the love and passion she poured into her ministry with youth. I saw the things she accomplished as a wife, mother, and minister. Aimee had purpose in this life, and she lived it out joyfully every day.

I grieve now for her family – her parents have lost a daughter, her husband a wife, her kids a mother, her youth a leader and friend. It’s always hard to lose someone we love, but more so when it seems to us that she should have had years, decades left to live and laugh and do God’s work. I grieve because now we’ll never have the chance to get together in this life and reminisce about those golden days at Baylor. But I can rejoice knowing that she is with our Lord and Savior, and someday I’ll get to see her there.

And Aimee’s death is making me think. She threw herself wholeheartedly into ministry. She had a passion, a purpose, she was walking the path to which God  had called her. I can’t imagine how many lives she’s touched.  I find myself wondering,  so why am I here? What am I doing to advance the Kingdom of God? How can I live with purpose if I don’t know what that purpose should be?

Thank you, Aimee, for being my friend, a ray of sunshine to those you’ve minstered to, and for living your life in such a way as to make me contemplate how I can live my life better and more fully.  Godspeed, and I’ll see you in the presence of our Lord one day.

About bunkie68

Mom to boys. Happily married. Jesus follower. Avid reader. Amateur foodie. Scentsy consultant. I thrive on chocolate and strong coffee, and I need some extra hours in my day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

