Gardening as faith

Gardening Faith

“Gardening is a demonstration of faith; it’s belief in a tomorrow.”

So said my friend April on her Instagram account.  Those words spoke to me, and she was kind enough to let me use them.  The picture above is a picture from our garden, the first tomato to turn red.  Our tomatoes have really gone bonkers this year – it’s a contest to see which will take over the garden first, the tomatoes or our one cucumber plant.  We were thrilled to see the first fruit turning red, and we delight to see the plants laden with tomatoes just waiting to ripen.  (Tomato and cucumber salad, spaghetti sauce, salsa….)

But what April said really rang true with me.  Those of you who read my ramblings at bigfatf.com know that we’ve been kind of hanging on by a thread financially since I was out of work for a big chunk of 2014.  I loved the job I got with the state, loved my co-workers there, but the salary wasn’t enough to make ends meet, so we stayed in the hole even when I was working.

Praise God, I started a new job April 18 (there will no doubt be more on that later), and it does pay more.  But we’re *still* trying to dig our way out of the hole.  (Eight months of unemployment can put you in something that very much resembles a crater.)  We aren’t on an even keel financially yet, we’re facing the prospect of going back into default on the mortgage if we can’t get it caught up, and it’s tough.  I’d be lying if I said it wasn’t.

But our garden.  We’ve planted it.  We’ve planted flowers.  Irises, my favorites, that come back and grow and bloom year after year.  Sunflowers (we had a random one pop up in the compost bin this year, and it was beautiful, and we had nothing to do with it).  If we move, whether by choice or by have-to, a garden isn’t exactly something we can pack up and take with us.  We planted those tomatoes and peppers and cucumbers in anticipation of being here to enjoy the fruits of our labors.

So like April said, our garden is belief in tomorrow.  We plant in a demonstration of faith.  We believe that God can make a way, that He is bigger than our finances, than our mortgage, than the mortgage company.  He can make the math work where we can’t, and He can make a way where there is no way.  And, God willing, we’ll be right here in this house to enjoy our tomatoes.

“We are pressured in every way but not crushed; we are perplexed but not in despair; we are persecuted but not abandoned; we are struck down but not destroyed.”
2 Corinthians 4:8-9

About bunkie68

Mom to boys. Happily married. Jesus follower. Avid reader. Amateur foodie. Scentsy consultant. I thrive on chocolate and strong coffee, and I need some extra hours in my day.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gardening as faith

  1. I love this! Such a wonderful way to show faith in God. Thanks for sharing!
    -Jordan @ The Heart of a Book Blogger

    Like

Leave a Reply

