Tuneful Tuesday: Josh Garrels

I don’t remember where and how I came across the music of Josh Garrels – oh, wait, yes, I do.  I was looking for some ambient-type music to try to help Thing One sleep (he preferred dubstep – definitely NOT restful, settling-down music, and that boy needs all the help he can get going to sleep), and came across some references to Christian ambient music.  I thought, huh, well, let’s see what that’s all about.  And behold, Josh Garrels.

While his lyrics aren’t always Bible-thumpin’, whack-you-over-the-head-with-Jesus, they are clearly influenced by a faith in God.  Here are two of my favorites:

Bread and Wine:

This song speaks to our need for community.  From the beginning, we were not intended to be alone, and a community of friends is one of the most important things we can have.

“If I fall, I fall alone, but two can help to bear the load
A threefold chord is hard to break
All I have I give to you if you will share your sorrows too,
Then joy will be the crown upon our heads
My friend”

And this.  The first Josh Garrels song I ever heard, and I was immediately taken with it.

The Resistance:

“Hold fast like an anchor in the storm
For your love, we will rise and overcome
Through the fire

“Hold fast my people and sing
Through peace and through suffering
All for the joy that it brings, to be free
It’s gonna cost us everything
To follow one Lord and King
True love endures everything
To be free”

Hold fast.  Endure.  Press on.  Love.

Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, [a]fixing our eyes on Jesus, the [b]author and perfecter of faith, who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. — Hebrews 12:1-3, NASB

About bunkie68

Mom to boys. Happily married. Jesus follower. Avid reader. Amateur foodie. Scentsy consultant. I thrive on chocolate and strong coffee, and I need some extra hours in my day.
This entry was posted in Faith, Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

